Iyer returns, no Chahal; Chapman, Astle in NZ XI

Toss India chose to bowl vs New Zealand

Rohit Sharma won his first toss as India’s full-time T20I captain and chose to bowl against New Zealand in Jaipur. He said he expected dew to set in at some point during the game.
India handed the allrounder Venkatesh Iyer an international debut, and welcomed back the middle-order batter Shreyas Iyer, the spin-bowling allrounder Axar Patel, and the fast-bowling pair of Mohammed Siraj and Deepak Chahar, who weren’t involved in their T20 World Cup campaign. Also back in the side after playing just one match at the World Cup is Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

This left India with three frontline seamers plus the medium-pace of Venkatesh, as well as two spinners in Axar and R Ashwin. The team sheet listed Venkatesh at No. 6, but it is possible he could open the batting – the role he plays at his IPL franchise Kolkata Knight Riders.

New Zealand made four changes to the team that lost the World Cup final on Sunday. Out went James Neesham, Adam Milne, Ish Sodhi and Kane Williamson – who is resting from all three T20Is – and in came Lockie Ferguson – who has recovered from the calf tear that ruled him out of the World Cup midway through the tournament – the legspinner Todd Astle, the left-hand batter Mark Chapman and the spin-bowling allrounder Rachin Ravindra.

New Zealand: 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Daryl Mitchell, 3 Mark Chapman, 4 Glenn Phillips, 5 Tim Seifert (wk), 6 Rachin Ravindra, 7 Mitchell Santner, 8 Tim Southee (capt), 9 Todd Astle, 10 Lockie Ferguson, 11 Trent Boult.

India: 1 Rohit Sharma (capt), 2 KL Rahul, 3 Suryakumar Yadav, 4 Shreyas Iyer, 5 Rishabh Pant (wk), 6 Venkatesh Iyer, 7 Axar Patel, 8 R Ashwin, 9 Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 10 Deepak Chahar, 11 Mohammed Siraj.

Karthik Krishnaswamy is a senior sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *